To Go or Not to Go?

I’m having a crisis of confidence as I make plans for this afternoon.

I’m invited to attend a picnic/baptism/baby dedication gathering beside a river, hosted by the network of house churches that I was a part of for the last four years or so. The group of people who nurtured my flagging faith in the years after the disaster that was a prayer/mission trip in Malta, who gave me a safe place to ask questions, and slowly to heal and find a wholeness I’d never dreamt of.  The community whose leader’s retreat was the place where I first honestly said out loud that I thought I was being called to Catholicism.  The community whose weekend retreat just before this last Lenten season was a place of renewal and blessing as I moved forward on that journey towards Catholicism. They are people I love and trust.

And so I’m sitting here this morning weighing that invitation against the loneliness I feel in this journey.  I find myself wondering if joining this group of people to celebrate will ease that loneliness or intensify it.  It could go either way.

It could ease it – being around people I appreciate.  People who are pursuing Christ wholeheartedly.  Getting hugs, celebrating with them, and the guaranteed laughter that comes when this group gathers.

Or it could exacerbate it – knowing that I am called to something entirely different from this body.  That I am called away from them to this crazy new journey.  It could be a reminder of the isolation that I’ve felt so strongly this week – the lack of people with whom to walk through this crazy season of transition to Catholicism.

I don’t know which way I’ll go.  At this moment I’m leaning towards attending, collecting a few hugs, celebrating the baptisms.  But going with gentleness towards myself, and the permission to slip out if the pain of my journey becomes too great. We’ll see…

This entry was posted in Catholicism, Journeying, Spiritual Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Go or Not to Go?

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on a Challenging Weekend | For a Land I Will Show You

Leave a Reply

