Proverbs

I was doing my usual daily scripture reading today, and this verse stood out:

Psalm 45:10, 11 ESV
“Hear, O daughter, and consider, and incline your ear: forget your people and your father’s house, and the king will desire your beauty. Since he is your lord, bow to him.”

“Forget your people and your father’s house.”  “Bow to the king.”

That kind of describes the immense tension of sharing this journey with my family.

I’m not leaving everything behind, really.  30 years of living within the faith of my family has formed me and made me who I am.  But I do have to follow this crazy journey Jesus is inviting me to, whether or not my family ultimately approves.

And somehow this verse in Proverbs both challenged and encouraged me in the midst of that reality today.

This entry was posted in Catholicism, Journeying, Spiritual Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

