Sigh

Was it just the other day that I wrote that I felt like I was making headway in figuring out how to carry two traditions?

As I wrestle through a few things today, and ponder conversations I’ve had over the last week or so, I’m left with this thought:

I think sometimes that I might be too Protestant to ever be Catholic, and too Catholic to ever be at home in Protestant settings.

This entry was posted in Catholicism, Journeying. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sigh

  1. Relax says:

    Sometimes I have felt the very same way, though I’ve never been a non-Catholic in 62 years! It’s a choice. For me, one bottom line that I’d say spells the difference is that although one doesn’t have to give up or sell out anything in order to be Catholic, for a Catholic to become anything else, one would definitely have to.

    • Lisa says:

      I see your argument, though I’d have to say that for me, at least, it doesn’t ring true. I’ve had and will have to give up many things dear to me to become Catholic. And those are choices and sacrifices I make knowingly, but my choice doesn’t make them any less painful or difficult.

  2. Ana Mari Marcos Galera says:

    I have felt like that so many times. Specially here in Spain were have encounter with so many Catholics that have a real and beautiful personal relationship with Jesus. I just figured that us humans won’t get it right ever and at the same time that gives me peace because God see our hearts despite everything else, despite ourselves, despite our catholic or protestant choices. This journey that will make sense when we are in heaven with Him. Thanks for sharing!
    Praying for you friend.

    • Lisa says:

      I’ve just realized I never replied to this. Thanks for your prayers. Glad to know I’m not alone in thoughts like these! Praying for you as well!

Leave a Reply

